Chewed Off & Spit Out: Complaining Doesn’t Taste Very Good

Boy has this past week been ROUGH for me. I had surgery on Dec. 9 and am still recovering…slowly…ugh. I had a post-op Dr. appointment this past week and my surgeon said that he doesn’t like the look of the surgery site. He didn’t take the stitches out….dang it. AND to beat all…..the surgery site was already VERY EXTREMELY sensitive and hurt to touch….now it is worse. Much worse! The Dr. is concerned and making sure that there isn’t an infection….so I had to have blood work drawn. I haven’t heard any results as of yet. No news is good news, right? I can honestly say……It seems I’ve done nothing but complain, complain and complain some more this week..with good reason, too (at least in my mind anyways).

Complaining by definition is not a pretty word, is it? The following is the definition:

com·plain  (km-pln)

intr.v. com·plained, com·plain·ing, com·plains

1. To express feelings of pain, dissatisfaction, or resentment.
2. To make a formal accusation or bring a formal charge.
 
Not pretty at all……not one iota. So, by definition, neither was I all week long.
 

 

Who likes to hear someone complain? Honestly? No one, not a single one of us, yet we all still do it. We feel justified in some way that “WE” have the right to do so, because our situations are different in some manner! Right? Well, we couldn’t be more wrong. And remember, our children mirror how we act and react to situations……keep that on the back burner in the recesses of your mind, your heart, and your very essence…..how do you want your child to eminate you? Just what ARE we teaching our children?

I’ve been in a perpetual bad mood all week…..naturally with some “ups” thrown and strewn in there here and there!!! Geez, I hurt like the dickens, no one is helping me to feel better and when I went to the Dr, he didn’t do anything except tell me he’ll see me in another month!! WHAT? Are you kidding me? I had even ended up in the Emergency Room one day…oh yes, the pain is that bad!

“A pessimist is somebody who complains about the noise when opportunity knocks!” Oscar Wilde

“Any fool can criticize, condemn, and compalin, but it takes character and self control to be understanding and forgiving.”  Dale Carnegie

“Don’t find fault, find a remedy;anybody can complain.” Henry Ford

“When a personfinds themselves predisposed to complaining about how little they are regarded by tothers, let them reflect ow little they have contributed to the happiness of others. ” Samuel Johnson

“It is better to light one small candle than to curse the darkness.” Confucious

“Realize that if you have time to whine and complain about something, then you have the time to do something about it.” Anthony J. D’Angelo

I do ask this……hear my tears…..not my complaints….my tears are no longer complaining……they are hurting. Blessings to you and your children…….

Mama 249

Leave a Reply

