Leavin’ on a Jet Airplane…

Tomorrow I head out very early in the morning to catch the red eye flight to see a Doctor at Cleveland Clinic. This is my second trip in a short few months……getting expensive to do this, but this should be the last time I have to go to CC. I’m going to come home tomorrow night as well so it’s going to be one long stinkin’ day!!

I told MM this today so that he can start preparing his mind for the fact that he won’t see me tomorrow at all. This is ONLY the second time since he’s come home that has happened…..the other was the last time I went to CC. He was not a happy camper about this news! He immediately started crying his lil eyes right out. He was genuinely sad. He said, “I don’t want to be far away from your heart, mommy!” Man, OUCH….I don’t want to either lil man, but our hearts are intertwined (used a more child appropriate word) and they always touch. “No they don’t,” he said, “If I can’t see you, it doesn’t touch.” I sometimes forget that kiddos, especially 4 year olds, are concrete thinkers. He hasn’t yet developed that abstract thinking yet. Darn.

MM cried for about 25 minutes as I soothed and held him. He finally laid back down and went to sleep, which is where he is at this moment…..lying there peacefully….for the moment.

Last time I went to Cleveland Clinic, dummy me forgot to take my cell phone!! I couldn’t call MM. I was so sad and broken hearted because I had promised him I’d call. I could only imagine what he was thinking. This time, I’m prepared with a giant note written in Sharpie, “CELL PHONE”….so I don’t forget it this time!!

Tonight, I am so excited to get to listen to a webinar by Bryan Post from the Post Institute. This will be my first…hopefully of many to listen to. I’m trying to gain as much information about Reactive Attachment Disorder as I can. I purchased 2 books for my Kindle last week about SPD (Sensory Processing Disorder) called, “Raising a Sensory Smart Child” and also purchased “Sensory Integration Strategies for Home and School.” I recently started the first one and so far so good. There is a book (not available at Amazon or on Kindle yet) recommended by a good friend of mine called, “Learning the Dance of Attachment” by Holly Van Gulden that I’m dying to read. That is next on my LONG list.

Peace be with each of you and here’s hoping for safe travels for all of us traveling tomorrow…..

Mama249

 

The reason birds can fly and we can’t is simply that they have perfect faith, for to have faith is to have wings.

— Sir James Matthew Barrie

The desire to fly is an idea handed down to us by our ancestors who, in their grueling travels across trackless lands in prehistoric times, looked enviously on the birds soaring freely through space, at full speed, above all obstacles, on the infinite highway of the air.

— Wilbur Wright

Leave a Reply

